Executive leadership team

The Executive Leadership Team is the primary executive decision-making body of the District Health Board, with the responsibility for the design and development of the strategic direction of the health system as well as ensuring that the organisation delivers on its objectives and key performance requirements. The team includes:

 Gloria Johnson


Dr Gloria Johnson
Acting Chief Executive Officer



(photo coming soon)

Margaret White
Acting Chief Financial Officer
 benedict hefford Benedict Hefford
Director of Primary Health & Community Services
 Margie Apa Margie Apa
Director of Population Health, Strategy & Investments
 Phillip Balmer Phillip Balmer
Director of Hospital Services
 Professor Jonathan Gray Professor Jonathon Gray
Director of Ko Awatea
 (photo coming soon)

Vanessa Thornton
Acting Chief Medical Officer (CMO)

 Campbell Brehner Dr Campbell Brebner
Chief Medical Advisor, Primary Care
David Lenihan David Lenihan
Director, Healthy Together 2020
Beth Bundy Beth Bundy
Director of Human Resources
 Jenny Parr Jenny Parr
Director of Patient Care & Chief Nurse and Allied Health Officer