Counties Manukau District Health Board 2019 election results

In October 2019, voting took place to elect members to district health boards (DHBs), the governing bodies responsible for overseeing the delivery of health and disability services in their districts.

View the final results for the 2019 local elections - District Health Boards (CMDHB) (PDF, 941 KB)

DHB Boards have a critical leadership role in the health system and play a crucial role in the health sector’s work to improve the health status of all New Zealanders.

In the Auckland region, there are three DHBs  - Waitemata (PDF, 1.1 MB) , Auckland (PDF, 1.5 MB) and Counties Manukau (PDF, 1.2 MB) .

Each DHB board consists of up to 11 members. Seven of these are elected members. After each election, the Minister of Health can appoint up to four more members to ensure the board encompasses a range of perspectives, skills and knowledge. For example, the Minister may wish to appoint people with financial or other large entity governance experience, or people from groups not represented among the elected members.

The chair and deputy chair are appointed by the Minister of Health from among the board’s elected and appointed members.

For more detailed information, visit the Ministry of Health website.

Last modified: