New Board members for Counties Manukau Health

Media Release 7 December 2019|Counties Manukau Health welcomes the reappointment of Vui Mark Gosche as Chair of CMDHB.

The announcement was made by the Health Minister, Dr David Clark, today.

Vui was first appointed as Chair in 2018, and confirmation of his reappointment for a further three years will ensure continuity of governance and enable the board to continue the work started under his leadership.

The Minister has also announced the appointment of Tipa Mahuta as Deputy Chair. She is a current councillor on the Waikato Regional Council representing one of two Maori seats, Nga Hau E Wha.

Other new appointments to CMDHB are Pierre Tohe and Lana Perese.

In making his announcement today, the Minister said “District Health Boards play a vital role delivering health care to New Zealanders. It’s critical that they are well lead, and well governed.

“I am delighted with the calibre of people that have agreed to take on these important board roles.”

The Minister has appointed 13 new chairs, including four Maori chairs, and 37 out of the 76 appointed board members are women.

“For the first time the number of Maori chairs and deputies reflects the proportion of our Maori population,” he said. “This is crucial to improving health outcomes for New Zealand’s Maori communities.”

Elected members to CMDHB are Catherine Abel-Pattinson, Paul Young, Colleen Brown, Apulu Reece Autagavaia, Dianne Glenn, Katrina Bungard and Garry Boles.

The new boards start work on 9 December. CM Health’s first board meeting will be Tuesday 10 December.

Issued by: CM Health Communications
Media Line: 09 250 9857

Posted in media release;

board ministry of health CMDHB governance

Less than a minute to read

Last modified: