We are often asked why Te Whatu Ora Counties Manukau uses the double vowel instead of the macron in all te reo Maaori written communication.

Te Whatu Ora Counties Manukau Health services are located and delivered within the boundary of the Waikato-Tainui Iwi; it is important that the organisation adheres to the language differences of this Iwi area.  The language strategy and tikanga (protocol) of Te Whatu Ora Counties Manukau is guided by Te Manawhenua i Taamaki Makaurau (MWiTM), a collective of eight independent Maaori entities that have been recognised within the greater Auckland region.

MWiTM advise on best practice that is implemented at Te Whatu Ora Counties Manukau, including te reo Maaori; this is why you will see the following words, as examples, used in our written communication - whaanau instead of whānau (family), Taamaki instead of Tāmaki (Auckland), ngaa instead of ngā (all).

Last modified: