International Day of People with Disability awards

This year Te Whatu Ora for Counties Manukau, Te Toka Tumai, and Waitemata joined together to commemorate the International Day of People with Disability. 

The awards, held on 4 December, acknowledge and celebrate the exceptional dedication and contributions of our staff in enhancing services and nurturing inclusive environments.

Raki Debebe, Disability Strategy Implementation Lead, Te Whatu Ora Counties Manukau, said the joint efforts of a number of people and teams made for an incredible event.

“Our heartfelt gratitude goes out to our speakers and every helping hand that contributed to its success.

“A special thank you to all who took the time to nominate their colleagues, and an immense round of applause to all the nominees – your remarkable contributions are truly commendable!”.

A big congratulations to our Counties Manukau staff who won the following awards:

Danny Farnham Project Manager

Danny Farnham, Project Manager for ICT

Purposeful Leadership - for showing proactive leadership in improving access and inclusion for disabled people

“Danny's role as a pivotal and founding member of the Counties Accessibility Network (CAN do!).

His approach has led to practical improvements such as ensuring clear pavements for easy workplace and hospital access, installation of automatic doors, facilitation of accessible bathroom amenities, including lowered mirrors.”

Ana Smith Play Specialist KidzFirst

Ana Smith, Play Specialist for Kidz First

Patient and Whaanau Impact - for working far beyond what is expected to improve the experience of disabled people

“Ana has recently assumed the crucial role of team leader for our play specialist team at Kidz First Inpatients. However, her impact far preceded this official position. Her visionary leadership has been instrumental in transforming Kidz First into an Autism-friendly hospital, pioneering the creation of a communication 'passport' and a dedicated sensory room.”

Posted in Latest news;

staff clinical disability

Less than a minute to read Communications Team

Last modified: